Hypervigilance

I was watching X-Factor last night and two men started running down the stairs. Most people knew it was part of the act but I was actually scared for the artist on stage. I knew that she was in potential danger. And I was right.

I have suffered from hypervigilance for as long as I can remember. It is one of the symptoms of PTSD. I remember watching Tommy Cooper on the Royal Variety Performance on the 15th April 1984. Tommy was near the end of his act when he slumped over. The audience laughed as did my sister. They thought it was part of the act. I was distressed. I knew it wasn’t.  I knew Tommy was ill. The sad thing was that I was only 6 at the time and my brain was already in a state of hyperarousal.

Tommy had died.

Hypervigilance is useful in small doses but it does affect your daily life if you are constantly on edge. There are steps you can take to ensure it doesn’t ruin your life and you can read about them at the link below:

What is PTSD Hypervigilance?

slide_3

Leave a Reply

