Putting Things Into Perspective

Yesterday I went into the centre of London. I rarely venture into the middle in the week, and now I remember why. There was a poor pregnant woman on the tube who looked like she was about to go into labour, she was panting and standing up. Everyone was ignoring her so I gave her my seat, made sure she was ok, chatted to her and then walked her to her destination at Tottenham Court Road. It really confuses me that the same Londoners who are so caring that they voted for us to stay in the EU can act like robots on the transport system. Then at lunchtime I walked out of a restaurant that people queue for an hour at a time to visit because the service was so poor. I looked around at all the people who were putting up with it and thought – seriously? Why? I think I’m becoming a grumpy old woman in my middle age.

Anyway, I have been stressed and worried about some big changes that are happening in my life right now which have been getting me down. However, my visit to an exhibition at the British Museum put it all into perspective. The exhibition was about two Egyptian cities that had been ‘lost’ for over a thousand years, cities that divers had found again. How can you lose a city? How can you lose two? Looking at all the artefacts of those people who are no more made me realise how insignificant we are in time and place. There was a statue of Cleopatra III. That poor woman was murdered by her son. Now she was a lady who had problems!

This idea of putting things into perspective was further brought home when I visited the Greenwich Observatory. Looking up at the stars made me marvel at the wonder and enormity of the universe. In the grand scheme of things, my problems will disappear in the blink of an eye, and really are insignificant. We need to make the most of our time on this Earth, as it will be over all too quickly.

Textures & Overlays | Vintage Faded Bokeh Collection for Photoshop.

 

Leave a Reply

